About District


Administrative Units

Mayialduthurai District consists of two Revenue Divisions viz., Mayiladuthurai and  Sirkali, Four Taluks viz., Mayialduthurai, Kuthalam, Sirkali and Tharangambadi  of 287 Revenue Villages. The District has five blocks viz. Mayiladuthurai, kuthalam, Sirkali, Kollidam and Sembanorkoil  comprising of 241 Village Panchayats. There are two Municipalities viz. Mayiladuthurai & Sirkali and four Town Panchayats viz. Manalmedu, Vatheeswarankoil,kuthalam and Tharangambadi.


Agriculture, One of the major economies of the District, contributes a higher share of Rice Production in the State. We have raised so many important agricultural crop in our District. Rice, Groundnut, Pulses, Gingelly, Sugarcane and Cotton.


Fishing along with Para marine activities like Dry fish ,Prawn farming constitues the second Major economy for the district. The marine ecosystem provides mankind with food, medicines, industrial products and pleasure. Inland Fishing too contributes.